Board Welcome

Kia Orana

We welcome your visit to our website and your interest in our wonderful school.

Apii Te Uki Ou is a school which is focused on creating children that are passionate learners, effective communicators and independent thinkers who become responsible Cook Islanders. We are proud to offer a caring family environment focused on the child.

The role of the Board of Governors is to work closely with the Principal and staff to provide the very best education that we can for the children of our school. We are responsible for monitoring and evaluating the performance and effectiveness of the school, for ensuring that the budget is managed prudently and for hiring and supporting our excellent staff.

The board are also responsible for organising a variety of fun activities and events throughout the school year to raise the funds required to operate a successful school.

We operate an ‘open door’ policy and you are always welcome to come into school or contact us should you have any suggestions or queries.

The board members for 2017 are:

President: Lucy McDonald
Vice President: Alan Taylor
Treasurer: Rory Quirke


  • Jessie Sword
  • Marina Short
  • Cecile Marten
  • Louise Wittwer
  • Ira Gamez
  • Andrea Rongo-Kea
  • Eddie Drollet


Principal: Mark Harris
Staff Rep: TeiA Potoru (DP)
Secretary: Tina Mitchell
Head of Pre-school: Saireni Poila

Lucy McDonald
Board President

Contact us by email